D621 SHE

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• D621 SHE

As requested by Steve, some awaited pics of the recent re-build.

Some quick history first of, Dshe (Deeshe) as this van is known, was bought just over a year ago, from Gothbob, who got it from Steve Smith. When I got it it was a dog, plain and simple. I tidied it up, best I could, and got an MOT quite easilly. I planned to run this van until the MOT ran out, and then, break it.

However, after its inital service, and a timing chain replacement about 6 months ago, I was deciding to keep hold of it, as it has been a fantasticly reliable van, in addition, the floor pan, and underside was pretty much spotless especially for a 20 year old van. The generall appearance let it down big time, the rust creeping into the arches, the dents and holes in the bumpers, and front doors that were hanging by nothing more than good luck.

I have a very good friend, who, is a welder and fabricator by trade, and also does spraying, and he agreed to sort out the bodywork, and re-spray it over xmas. We stripped down about three weeks ago, and we are now ready for the engine to back in, the doors are still being painted.

I will start with some pics from before, and at the stripped stage, and will add some more soon......

Rich
    Attached Files

yo,can you sort my van aswell?
    alot of it is bugged but engine runs :laugh:

Comment

What the pictures above don't show, is how flat and worn out the paintwork was, the random stone chip rust patches, and general shabbyness of the van.

Here is stripping down.......

Found one hole in the drivers side sill, and the others were in the passenger A piller. This took some re-building, and the door on this side had to be cut off with a sabre saw, as the heads of the nuts were so rusty, they were just little round stubby blobs.

This was probably, the worst bit.....

More pics tomorrow....
      Attached Files
      Last edited by Rich; 30th December 2007, 22:56.

Comment