View Full Version : Advert replies
zeolite1
21st October 2003, 21:43
Hi
I have an advert in the classifieds and so far all I have had are dodgy replies from foreign so-called traders who want to do some juggling with cheques and money. Am I the only person to be affected or are they just picking on this site?
Does anyone know what the scam is?
E_T_V
21st October 2003, 22:07
yes they have targetted this site (or more accuratle a bot has collected all the e-mail addresses on the adverts.
The scam is to get hold of your bank details so they can then empty your account.
SimonR
22nd October 2003, 07:55
The elderly couple who gave me my blue Maestro VP also had this problem after advertising on the MMOC classifieds.
They were getting Emails from Nigerians (mainly) saying that they wanted to buy the car. The deal was that they'd send the owners a £5000 cheque and then the owners would give them back the car and the balance. The £5000 cheque would then bounce and the owners would be down to the tune of one Maestro VP and about £4750. Nice :banghead:
I was wondering about the problem of a Bot collecting details from this website - I thought if the classifieds page was password protected - but the password was available on the site, then Joe Public could view the page but an automated Bot would could not, being as it would not be clever enough to circumnavigate the security.
After advertising for parts wanted on the classifieds I've been getting lots of offers of large payouts from Nigerians, providing I issue them with my bank details. The last one promised to pay the sum of £4,000,000 into a 'god-fearing' account. I'd have liked to see that ;)
Alan the Vanner
22nd October 2003, 08:51
I was on my parcel deliveries a few weekends ago and was listening to the Jonathan Ross show on the radio. His co-presenter was telling EXACTLY the same story when he was selling his car. Seems that these stories are cropping up all the time.:(
Beaker
22nd October 2003, 10:04
You could be onto something with that password protection thing. Would certainly stop those annoying bots.
zeolite1
22nd October 2003, 12:46
I feel better knowing that I am not alone. I emailed the last one back a rude message. So do people turn up and collect the parts?
One emailer wanted to know my "bottom price" I wasn't sure what that would be.
E_T_V
22nd October 2003, 14:04
Its an automated e-mail so often they end up saying strange things..
Easiest answer is block the sender so you don't get anymore of them from that address. (although they change addresses frequently to get around this fact)
Mat_C
22nd October 2003, 14:27
Try giving your email as, e.g. me@maestroNOSPAM.org.uk (please remove NOSPAM).
Alan the Vanner
22nd October 2003, 19:48
That reminds me. There's another site with a discussion forum to do with my modelling that has a feature which enables you to write a fake email address, so that other forum members can contact you, but you don't get any spam. Genius!:cool:
D87 SMW
22nd October 2003, 19:59
Originally posted by Alan the Vanner
That reminds me. There's another site with a discussion forum to do with my modelling that has a feature which enables you to write a fake email address, so that other forum members can contact you, but you don't get any spam. Genius!:cool:
*off subject* oohh, what sort of modelling do you do? (or should we not know about it ;) :laugh: )*off subject*
*on subject* I usually just tell them where to stick it... :laugh: *on subject*
Alan the Vanner
22nd October 2003, 20:02
Er, yes, small scale cars and trucks. I looked at my posting and thought someone would ask.:laugh:
By the way, where can I get one of those Maestie models?
D87 SMW
22nd October 2003, 20:15
Originally posted by Alan the Vanner
By the way, where can I get one of those Maestie models?
What, one of these...?
Can find them in the Toys & Bean Bag Plush section of eBay. That's where I got this one of mine from - was only £3.70!
D87 SMW
22nd October 2003, 20:18
..and here's the latest picture of it.. :cool:
vBulletin® v3.8.7, Copyright ©2000-2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.